EquestrianMag ~ The online magazine for horse enthusiasts Bookmark Us Register for our Equestrian Newsletter Contact Us
Front PageArticles & FeaturesEquestrian EventsEquestrian Shopping DirectoryAuctions

Recommended Sites:

Annual Equine Industry Vision Award Winner Selected for 2008

Daytona Beach, FL (March 1, 2008)–Pfizer Animal Health and American Horse Publications are proud to announce that a winner has been selected to receive the 2008 Equine Industry Vision Award. Sponsored by Pfizer Animal Health, the award is intended to recognize innovation, leadership and service. All of the 12 nominees this year were outstanding examples of these qualities.

The Equine Industry Vision Award Committee reviewed nominations and the list of nominees was narrowed to six finalists. The committee selected the following finalists (listed in alphabetical order): G. Marvin Beeman DVM; Charlotte Brailey Kneeland; Louisiana State University Equine Health Studies Program; Matthew Mackay-Smith DVM, Sally Swift, and Linda Tellington-Jones.

The remaining six nominations represented a spectrum of inspiring individuals within the equine world and included: Stacy V. Bearse, Patti Colbert, Cherry Hill, Debi Metcalfe, Neva Kittrel Scheve, and Richard Shrake.

The 11 voting members of the AHP Board of Directors, plus a Pfizer Animal Health representative, voted on the winner. Finalists were judged on their performance in relation to the achievement(s) cited and their demonstration of the following attributes and abilities: 1) The vision and innovation of a true pioneer; 2) Leadership, commitment, dedication and willingness to serve; 3) Original and effective ideas and/or products, services, programs; 4) High moral, ethical and professional standards.

The winner has been notified to allow for travel arrangements. However, the official announcement and presentation of the award will be made at the Equine Industry Vision Award Breakfast on Friday, June 20, 2008 during the AHP “Break from the Gate in 2008” Seminar in Saratoga Springs, New York. The recipient will be presented with the Equine Industry Vision Award Perpetual Trophy, created by master artisan Peter Wayne Yenawine and commissioned by Pfizer Animal Health.

Together, Pfizer Animal Health and AHP developed the Equine Industry Vision Award to create the first major award to showcase innovation across the equine industry. The award is intended not only to serve as a unique recognition of ingenuity and service, but also to benefit the industry by inspiring these qualities in others. Its purpose is to recognize outstanding leadership, creativity and meritorious contributions in the equine industry. Previous recipients of the Equine Industry Vision Award are Alexander Mackay-Smith in 2002, Don Burt in 2003, the American Quarter Horse Association in 2004, John Ryan Gaines in 2005, Stanley Bergstein in 2006, and David O'Connor in 2007.

New for 2009, all non-winning nominees, including finalists, must be re-nominated.


Reader Comments

Be the first to submit a comment on this article!


Submit your comments

Url (Include http:// ): *optional
Email: (will not be displayed)


HTML tags not allowed. URL's preceded by http:// will automatically display as links.
  Sign me up for the free EquestrianMag newsletter. We will never share or sell your email address.
Spam Protection 2 + 2 =


Link to this article

----------------------   It's easy! Just copy code below and paste into your webpage     --------------------

<a href="http://www.equestrianmag.com/article/equine-vision-industry-04-08.html">Annual Equine Industry Vision Award Winner Selected for 2008</a> ~ EquestrianMag.com


Your link will appear like this:
Annual Equine Industry Vision Award Winner Selected for 2008 ~ EquestrianMag.com







Equestrianmag.com and all site contents are Copyright © 2004-2018 Sostre & Associates   Privacy Policy   User Agreement

Equestrianmag.com is a member of American Horse Publications

Developed by Sostre & Associates


Table '404073_sostrein_content.views' doesn't exist