EquestrianMag ~ The online magazine for horse enthusiasts Bookmark Us Register for our Equestrian Newsletter Contact Us
Front PageArticles & FeaturesEquestrian EventsEquestrian Shopping DirectoryAuctions

Recommended Sites:

The 123rd National Horse Show Hosts Show Jumping Hall of Fame Year End Championships

Wellington, Fl – November 14, 2006 – Once again, the nation’s best equestrians will converge on Wellington, Florida, for the 123rd National Horse Show and Family Festival beginning on November 29, 2006. The show is proud to host the best of the best, the cream of the crop, from the Amateur-Owner Jumper and Junior Jumper divisions.

The top ranked riders from the year-long Show Jumping Hall of Fame Series have once again been invited to compete in a head to head battle in Florida in their special year-end championships at the 123rd National Horse Show and Family Festival. The Show Jumping Hall of Fame Junior and Amateur-Owner Jumper Championships each offer $15,000 in prize money. Each division, with three classes, offers a total of $25,000 in prize money.

The Show Jumping Hall of Fame final year end standings determine the entries for the Championship.

The Amateur-Owner Jumper Division starting list is highlighted by the top two riders in the SJHOF Eastern Conference, Cara Cheska from Waukesha, Wisconsin, and Whitney Weeks of Southport, Connecticut. Cheska will have her top horse, My Fair Lady, at Wellington, and Weeks will compete on Subliem, the horse she rode to the hard fought victory in last year’s SJHOF Junior Championship at the National Horse Show. Northbrook, Illinois’ Chloe Wormser, fifth in the national standings, will toss her hat into the ring with Modra, and eleventh and twelfth ranked riders Charlie and Louis Jacobs of East Aurora, New York, are also slated to compete.

In the Junior Division, it’s another battle of the top two ranked national finalists with Julie Welles of West Simsbury, Connecticut, and Haylie Jayne of Elgin, Illinois, topping the charts and set to go head to head in the extremely competitive section for the young riders. Jayne finished third in last year’s contest. Paige Andros of Pebble Beach, California, fourth ranked in the Western Conference, will make the journey to Wellington this year. Other top ranked juniors vying for this year’s title are seventh ranked Aimee Aron of Keswick, Virginia, and Julianna Fischer, eleventh ranked, and home-based in nearby Lake Worth, Florida.

Over $30,000 in prize money is up for grabs as the best of the Junior and Amateur-Owner Jumpers take the field at the 123rd Annual National Horse Show and Family Festival. The Welcome Stake for each division will be held on Friday in the DeNemethy Arena. This is followed by the Speed Stake for each section in the Internationale Arena on Saturday. The final showdown is on Sunday morning in the Internationale Arena at 8 a.m., beginning with the Show Jumping Hall of Fame Junior Championship and followed immediately by the Amateur battle.

2005 SJHOF Championship Results – National Horse Show

2005 $15,000 SJHOF Junior Jumper Championship

Table II, Sec 2a - Time First Jump-off

1 533 Whitney Weeks Subliem 0 40.023 (J-O)

2 300 Hillary Dobbs VDL Lotus Excell 0 42.108 (J-O)

3 588 Haylie Jayne Cartier 12 41.578 (J-O)

4 423 Julianna Fischer Lola 4 73.488

5 331 Katie Brown Rashnu 4 75.255

6 352 Lexy Reed Ludwig 4 78.328

7 376 Josephine Nash Razzmatazz 12 80.570

8 136 Katie McDaniel Quasar 12 80.730

2005 $15,000 SJHOF Amateur-Owner Championship

Table II, Sec 2a - Time First Jump-off

1 296 Lila L Sessums Continental B 0 42.546 (J-O)

2 133 Louis Jacobs Caucalis 4 38.557 (J-O)

3 135 Blythe Masters Camaro 4 39.100 (J-O)

4 417 Danielle Torano Lojana 4 77.344

5 131 Charlie Jacobs Innocence 4 77.847

6 130 Katrina Woods Cash Flow 4 80.143

7 594 Joana Valente Julia 107 4 80.159

8 385 Victoria D'Agostino Cinoa 4 81.928


The Show Jumping Hall of Fame and Museum, formally opened in 1989, was organized to promote the sport of show jumping and to immortalize the legends of the men, women and horses who have made great contributions to the sport. The focus of this noble institution is to encourage broader interest and participation in show jumping, as well as to educate devoted equestrians and novice horse lovers alike, by sharing the sport's legends, lore and landmark achievements.

The Show Jumping Hall of Fame, Inc. is headed by such dedicated officers as George H. Morris, Eugene R. Mische, Elizabeth Busch Burke, Frank Chapot, Bill Steinkraus, Marcia Williams and Larry Langer. The building is located in Busch Gardens in Tampa, Florida next to the Budweiser Clydesdales exhibit and we invite you to visit soon.

Enshrinement in the Show Jumping Hall of Fame is a great honor bestowed upon those whose contributions have set them apart. Each year electors may vote for a maximum of two people and one horse. Since the establishment of the Show Jumping Hall of Fame in 1987, only 40 people and 15 horses have been honored with induction.

Since 1987, the Show Jumping Hall of Fame has inducted the following: William C. Steinkraus, Bertalan deNemethy and Idle Dice (1987); Patrick Butler and August A. Busch, Jr. (1988); David Kelley, Jimmy Williams, Ben O’Meara and Frances Rowe (1989); Arthur McCashin, Kathy Kusner, Brigadier General Harry D. Chamberlin and San Lucas (1990); Adolph Mogavero, Whitney Stone, Morton “Cappy” Smith and Pat Dixon (1991); Eleonora “Eleo” Sears, Mary Mairs Chapot, Barbara Worth Oakford and Snowman (1992); Dr. Robert C. Rost and Joe Green (1993); Frank Chapot and Gordon Wright (1994); Mickey Walsh and Trail Guide (1995); Pamela Carruthers, Jet Run, Richard “Dick” Donnelly and Heatherbloom (1996); Edward “Ned” King, Bobby Egan and Sun Beau (1997); Fred “Freddy” Wettach, Jr., Melanie Smith Taylor and Johnny Bell (1998); Rodney Jenkins, Sinjon, Franklin F. “Fuddy” Wing, Jr. and Democrat (1999); George Morris, Carol Durand and Touch of Class (2000); Eugene R. Mische, Lt. Colonel John W. Russell, Bobby Burke, and Untouchable (2001); Harry R. Gill, Clarence L. “Honey” Craven, Calypso and Gem Twist (2002), Mainspring and J. Russell Stewart, Sr. (2003), and Snowbound (2004).

For further information about the Show Jumping Hall of Fame, contact us by email at info@showjumpinghalloffame.net

For more information on the Show Jumping Hall of Fame or the Show Jumping Hall of Fame Jumper Classic Series, please visit the Hall of Fame website at http://www.showjumpinghalloffame.net.


Reader Comments

Be the first to submit a comment on this article!


Submit your comments

Url (Include http:// ): *optional
Email: (will not be displayed)


HTML tags not allowed. URL's preceded by http:// will automatically display as links.
  Sign me up for the free EquestrianMag newsletter. We will never share or sell your email address.
Spam Protection 2 + 2 =


Link to this article

----------------------   It's easy! Just copy code below and paste into your webpage     --------------------

<a href="http://www.equestrianmag.com/article/jumping-hall-of-fame-championships-11-06.html">The 123rd National Horse Show Hosts Show Jumping Hall of Fame Year End Championships</a> ~ EquestrianMag.com


Your link will appear like this:
The 123rd National Horse Show Hosts Show Jumping Hall of Fame Year End Championships ~ EquestrianMag.com







Equestrianmag.com and all site contents are Copyright © 2004-2018 Sostre & Associates   Privacy Policy   User Agreement

Equestrianmag.com is a member of American Horse Publications

Developed by Sostre & Associates


Table '404073_sostrein_content.views' doesn't exist