EquestrianMag ~ The online magazine for horse enthusiasts Bookmark Us Register for our Equestrian Newsletter Contact Us
Front PageArticles & FeaturesEquestrian EventsEquestrian Shopping DirectoryAuctions

Recommended Sites:

Stadium Jumping's $200,000 American Invitational Remains a WEF Tradition in Tampa

Raymond James Stadium to Once Again Host America's Premier Outdoor Show Jumping Event

Tampa, FL - January 7, 2008 - The city of Tampa, Florida, will once again play host to the final weeks of this year's Winter Equestrian Festival, starting on March 19, 2008, at the Bob Thomas Equestrian Center at the Florida State Fairgrounds in Tampa.

The festival, the nation's oldest and largest equestrian extravaganza, is celebrating its 37th season of equestrian excellence.

The Tampa portion of the festival, produced by the nation's most respected and trusted equestrian production company, Stadium Jumping, Inc., also plays host to the grand finale of the winter-long series, the $200,000 Budweiser American Invitational CSI 4*, under the lights at Raymond James Stadium, on April 5, 2008.

Over the years, the American Invitational has been recognized as the crown jewel of American show jumping, and year in and year out, it has been one of its toughest tests.

The $200,000 Budweiser American Invitational, at Raymond James Stadium, brings together a star studded international group of equestrians to compete for one of the richest purses in all of show jumping. The unique invitation-only format assures the best possible starting field.

U.S. Olympic team Gold Medalists Beezie Madden and Authentic and McLain Ward on Sapphire, one-two finishers in last year's American Invitational, will return to fight it out again this year. Madden, who rode to victory in 2005 and again last year, will attempt to become one of the few three time winners of this classic with a victory in 2008.

Canada's Ian Millar, the most storied of all Olympians with 10 appearances, finished third last year in Tampa with In Style and plans to return and improve on that performance in 2008.

This trio of equestrian superstars will be challenged by one of the toughest starting fields ever assembled for a show jumping competition.

During the three weeks of competitions held at the Bob Thomas Equestrian Center leading up to the main event, the world's best riders will be in heated and head to head competition for the thirty available spots on the roster for the $200,000 Budweiser American Invitational.

Riders will also be fighting for the seven coveted openings on the squad for the 2008 Rolex FEI World Cup Finals, to be held in Gothenburg, Sweden, on April 24-27, 2008.

The stakes will once again be high when show jumping excitement returns to Tampa Bay in March.

American Invitational Champions over the Years

1973 $15,000 American Invitational

Rodney Jenkins & Idle Dice

1974 $15,000 American Invitational

Michelle McEvoy & Sundance

1975 $15,000 American Invitational

Michelle McEvoy & Sundance

1976 $15,000 American Invitational

Robert Ridland & Southside

1977 $15,000 American Invitational

Terry Rudd & Mr. Demeanor

1978 $25,000 American Invitational

Norman Dello Joio &Allegro

1979 $30,000 Anheuser-Busch American Invitational

Rodney Jenkins & Third Man

1980 $35,000 Anheuser-Busch American Invitational

Bernie Traurig & Eaden Vale

1981 $50,000 Anheuser-Busch American Invitational

Buddy Brown & Felton

1982 $50,000 Anheuser-Busch American Invitational

Melanie Smith & Calypso

1983 $50,000 Anheuser-Busch American Invitational

Katie Monahan & Noren

1984 $100,000 Anheuser-Busch American Invitational

Leslie Burr & Albany

1985 $100,000 Michelob American Invitational

Katie Monahan & The Governor

1986 $100,000 Michelob American Invitational

Tim Grubb & Linky

1987 $100,000 Michelob American Invitational

Lisa Jacquin & For The Moment

1988 $100,000 Michelob American Invitational

Katie Monahan-Prudent & Special Envoy

1989 $100,000 Michelob American Invitational

Greg Best & Gem Twist

1990 $100,000 Michelob American Invitational

David Raposa & Seven Wonder

1991 $100,000 Michelob American Invitational

George Lindemann & Three's & Seven's

1992 $100,000 Budweiser American Invitational

Ian Millar & Big Ben

1993 $100,000 Budweiser American Invitational

Debbie Stephens & Volan

1994 $100,000 Budweiser American Invitational

Michael Matz & Rhum IV

1995 $100,000 Budweiser American Invitational

Chris Kappler & Seven Wonder

1996 $100,000 Budweiser American Invitational

Harold Chopping & Brandy

1997 $100,000 Budweiser American Invitational

Todd Minikus & Ravel

1998 $100,000 Budweiser American Invitational

McLain Ward & Twist Du Valon

1999 $150,000 Budweiser American Invitational

Marley Goodman & Canyon *

2000 $150,000 Budweiser American Invitational

Schuyler Riley & Ilian

2001 $200,000 Budweiser American Invitational

Molly Ashe & Kroon Gravin

2002 $200,000 Budweiser American Invitational

Molly Ashe & Kroon Gravin

2003 $200,000 Budweiser American Invitational

Chris Kappler & Royal Kaliber

2004 $200,000 Budweiser American Invitational

Norman Dello Joio & Glasgow

2005 $200,000 Budweiser American Invitational

Beezie Madden & Authentic

2006 $200,000 Budweiser American Invitational

Rodrigo Pessoa & Baloubet De Rouet

2007 $200,000 Budweiser American Invitational

Beezie Madden & Authentic

Photo Credit: Beezie Madden and Authentic, winners of the 2007 Budweiser American Invitational at Raymond James Stadium in Tampa, Florida. Photo (C) 2007 Randi Muster. This photo may only be used in relation to this press release.


Reader Comments

Be the first to submit a comment on this article!


Submit your comments

Url (Include http:// ): *optional
Email: (will not be displayed)


HTML tags not allowed. URL's preceded by http:// will automatically display as links.
  Sign me up for the free EquestrianMag newsletter. We will never share or sell your email address.
Spam Protection 2 + 2 =


Link to this article

----------------------   It's easy! Just copy code below and paste into your webpage     --------------------

<a href="http://www.equestrianmag.com/article/stadium-jumpings-wef-tampa-01-08.html">Stadium Jumping's $200,000 American Invitational Remains a WEF Tradition in Tampa</a> ~ EquestrianMag.com


Your link will appear like this:
Stadium Jumping's $200,000 American Invitational Remains a WEF Tradition in Tampa ~ EquestrianMag.com







Equestrianmag.com and all site contents are Copyright © 2004-2018 Sostre & Associates   Privacy Policy   User Agreement

Equestrianmag.com is a member of American Horse Publications

Developed by Sostre & Associates


Table '404073_sostrein_content.views' doesn't exist