EquestrianMag ~ The online magazine for horse enthusiasts Bookmark Us Register for our Equestrian Newsletter Contact Us
Front PageArticles & FeaturesEquestrian EventsEquestrian Shopping DirectoryAuctions

Recommended Sites:

USET Foundation Honors Olympians and Special Award Winners

Wellington, FL - February 2, 2009 - The United States Equestrian Team (USET) Foundation Board of Trustees hosted a cocktail reception on Friday, January 30, 2009, to honor the 2008 Olympians and the recipients of the Foundations' Gold Medal Club Anniversary Awards, the Lionel Guerrand-Hermes Trophy, and the Whitney Stone Cup. The reception was held at Player's Club in Wellington, FL.

The reception featured a video with Olympic highlights of the medal winning performances of last year's teams for show jumping, dressage, and three-day eventing. The United States won the team gold medal in show jumping, the individual silver medal in eventing, and the individual bronze medal in show jumping.

The party honored the riders, owners, team leaders, and veterinarians of the Olympic horses. Also recognized were the members of the Gold Medal Club, the loyal and generous supporters of the USET Foundation. The members have been a vital and essential source of support to the U.S. equestrian teams. A special award was presented to Frances B. Steinwedell, who has been giving at the Gold Medal Club level for 30 years.

The presentations were led by USET Foundation President Jane F. Clark and Executive Director Bonnie B. Jenkins. Other trustees that attended were Senior Vice President Brownlee O. Currey, Jr., Secretary Eric L. Straus, Treasurer Lawrence G. Tribble, R. Bruce Duchossois, Eric Hasbrouck, S. Tucker S. Johnson, Anne Kursinski (also a member of the 2008 Olympic Show Jumping Team), Arlene Page, Melanie Smith Taylor, and Ted Weise.

Many athletes and owners were at the party as well, including: 2008 Olympians Laura Kraut, Beezie Madden, Steffen Peters, Courtney King-Dye, Michael Barisone, Phillip Dutton, Becky Holder, Karen O'Connor, and Captain Mark Phillips. Olympic owners Peter Wetherill, Akiko Yamazaki, and Robert and Sandra Mockoviak were honored at the party. Other attendees included: Peter Wylde, Joanie Goodman, Gregory Gingery, Beth Johnson, D.D. and Michael Matz, Helen Groves, Rick and Julie Mitchell, Tracey Weinberg, MaryAnn McPhail, Frank, Mary, and Laura Chapot, John Madden, Kermit and Jenny Sutton, Margaret H. Duprey, Julie Montgomery, Karen Lloyd, Eve and Richard Thompson, Judy Richter, Janne Rumbough, George and Chrystine Tauber, Carlene Blunt, Richard and Jim Thompson, Lauren Ward, George and Roberta Williams, Lauren Hough, Lizzy Chesson, Sara Ike, Frederick and Kim Boyer, and Bill and Olivia Weeks.

The United States Equestrian Team Foundation (http://www.uset.org) is the non-profit organization that supports the competition, training, coaching, travel and educational needs of America's elite and developing international, high-performance horses and athletes in partnership with the United States Equestrian Federation.

For more information on the USET Foundation, please call (908) 234-1251, or visit USET ONLINE at http://www.uset.org.

Photo Credit: USET Foundation CEO and President Jane F. Clark presents Frances B. Steinwedell with an award for her 30 years of generosity in the Gold Medal Club. Photo 2009 Jennifer Wood/PMG. This photo may be used free of charge only in relation to this press release.


Reader Comments

Be the first to submit a comment on this article!


Submit your comments

Url (Include http:// ): *optional
Email: (will not be displayed)


HTML tags not allowed. URL's preceded by http:// will automatically display as links.
  Sign me up for the free EquestrianMag newsletter. We will never share or sell your email address.
Spam Protection 2 + 2 =


Link to this article

----------------------   It's easy! Just copy code below and paste into your webpage     --------------------

<a href="http://www.equestrianmag.com/article/uset-olympians-award-winners-02-09.html">USET Foundation Honors Olympians and Special Award Winners</a> ~ EquestrianMag.com


Your link will appear like this:
USET Foundation Honors Olympians and Special Award Winners ~ EquestrianMag.com







Equestrianmag.com and all site contents are Copyright © 2004-2018 Sostre & Associates   Privacy Policy   User Agreement

Equestrianmag.com is a member of American Horse Publications

Developed by Sostre & Associates


Table '404073_sostrein_content.views' doesn't exist