EquestrianMag ~ The online magazine for horse enthusiasts Bookmark Us Register for our Equestrian Newsletter Contact Us
Front PageArticles & FeaturesEquestrian EventsEquestrian Shopping DirectoryAuctions

Recommended Sites:

USET Foundation Names Beezie Madden as 2007 Whitney Stone Cup Winner

Gladstone, NJ – February 16, 2007 –The Whitney Stone Cup is awarded annually by the USET Foundation Executive Committee to an active competitor who displays consistent excellence in international competition, high standards of sportsmanlike conduct, while also serving as an ambassador for the United States and equestrian sport. For the first time in its 27-year history, the Whitney Stone Cup has been given a second time to a deserving horseman. The 2007 Whitney Stone Cup winner is Beezie Madden of Cazenovia, NY.

The Whitney Stone Cup is given in honor of the late Whitney Stone, who served as President and Chairman of the Board of the USET. Whitney Stone led the USET from 1953 to 1973. He was instrumental in the creation of a civilian team when the Army retired from competitive horse sports after 1948.

After an outstanding year in 2005, Madden was awarded the Whitney Stone Cup. In 2006, Madden led the United States to even more honors. Madden and Authentic, owned by Abigail Wexner, have become a force to be reckoned with in international show jumping competition. The duo proved this at the 2006 World Equestrian Games in Aachen, Germany, when they helped the United States win a Team Silver Medal and then won the Individual Silver Medal.

“It is a real honor to win this award for a second time,” Madden said. “I hope it’s a sign that I’m setting a good example for young, up and coming riders.”

Madden was pleasantly surprised when she learned that she was being honored for a second time. “I didn’t really expect it, but I thought I had a better year in 2006 than 2005,” she said. “If I can show consistency and have one good year after another, that’s what I’m aiming for.”

U.S. Show Jumping chef d’equipe, George H. Morris, stated, “Beezie is the epitome of what this award stands for. She shows younger riders how it should be done and is the perfect example of horsemanship and sportsmanship for everyone to follow.”

Previous Whitney Stone Cup Winners:

1980 – Michael Matz

1981 – James C. Wofford

1982 – Norman Dello Joio

1983 – Melanie Smith

1984 – Carole Grant

1985 – Joe Fargis

1986 – Conrad Homfeld

1987 – Katie Monahan Prudent

1988 – Bruce O. Davidson

1989 – Gregory A. Best

1990 – William Long

1991 – Hap Hansen

1992 – Lana DuPont Wright

1993 – Carol Lavell

1994 – J. Michael Plumb

1995 – Robert Dover

1996 – Anne Kursinski

1997 – Leslie Burr Howard

1998 – David O'Connor

1999 – Valerie Kanavy

2000 – Karen O'Connor

2001 – Tucker Johnson

2002 – Gunter Seidel

2003 – Peter Wylde

2004 – Debbie McDonald

2005 – Chris Kappler

2006 – Elizabeth (Beezie) Madden

The United States Equestrian Team Foundation (http://www.uset.org) is the non-profit organization that supports the competition, training, coaching, travel and educational needs of America’s elite an developing international, high-performance horses and athletes in partnership with the United States Equestrian Federation.

For more information on the USET Foundation, please call (908) 234-1251, or visit USET ONLINE at http://www.uset.org.

Photo Credit: Whitney Stone Cup winner, Beezie Madden, receives her award from Jane F. Clark. Photo © 2007 Heather Caristo.


Reader Comments

Be the first to submit a comment on this article!


Submit your comments

Url (Include http:// ): *optional
Email: (will not be displayed)


HTML tags not allowed. URL's preceded by http:// will automatically display as links.
  Sign me up for the free EquestrianMag newsletter. We will never share or sell your email address.
Spam Protection 2 + 2 =


Link to this article

----------------------   It's easy! Just copy code below and paste into your webpage     --------------------

<a href="http://www.equestrianmag.com/article/whitney-stone-cup-uset-beezie-madden-2-07.html">USET Foundation Names Beezie Madden as 2007 Whitney Stone Cup Winner</a> ~ EquestrianMag.com


Your link will appear like this:
USET Foundation Names Beezie Madden as 2007 Whitney Stone Cup Winner ~ EquestrianMag.com







Equestrianmag.com and all site contents are Copyright © 2004-2018 Sostre & Associates   Privacy Policy   User Agreement

Equestrianmag.com is a member of American Horse Publications

Developed by Sostre & Associates


Table '404073_sostrein_content.views' doesn't exist