EquestrianMag ~ The online magazine for horse enthusiasts
Click Here to Print    Back to Full News Release     All News

Nominations due for the 6th annual Equine Industry Vision Award

September 15, 2006 – January 12, 2007 is the deadline date for nominations for the 6th annual 2007 Equine Industry Vision Award, which will be presented on June 22, 2007 during the American Horse Publications (AHP) Annual Seminar in Albuquerque, New Mexico. Pfizer Animal Health sponsors the award in partnership with AHP and developed it to recognize outstanding leadership, creativity and meritorious contributions in the equine industry.

Anyone is eligible to be nominated, or to nominate a candidate for the Equine Industry Vision Award and nominees may include individuals and/or organizations. Candidates may be considered for a single outstanding visionary achievement or for sustained outstanding contributions that have made a profound impact on the equine industry.

In recognition of these achievements, the award recipient is given the Equine Industry Vision Award Perpetual Trophy, created in the finest full lead crystal by master artisan Peter Wayne Yenawine and commissioned by Pfizer Animal Health. In addition to the perpetual trophy, the winner receives a smaller version of the award as a memento of this unique recognition.

At a breakfast sponsored by Pfizer Animal Health during the AHP Annual Seminar in Orlando, Florida in June 2006, the 5th annual Equine Industry Vision Award was presented to Stanley F. Bergstein. “Stanley Bergstein is a prime example of the innovative spirit and industry leadership that the Equine Industry Vision Award serves to recognize,” said Kristin Ruff, Equine Products Manager for Pfizer Animal Health. “His endless dedication and insight have helped shape the equine world, particularly the harness racing industry, and will continue to do so.”

In 2005, the award was presented posthumously to John Ryan Gaines who passed away on February 11, 2005. Gaines was noted for his countless contributions to the horse world that continue to reach across disciplines. In 2004, the American Quarter Horse Association (AQHA) was selected to receive this prestigious honor because of the organization's vast, positive impact on the equine experience world wide. In 2003, Don Burt was honored as the 2nd annual Equine Industry Vision Award winner. Burt has spent over 50 years living and working as a member of the horse industry and his efforts have been felt across disciplines. In its inaugural year, the 2002 Equine Industry Vision Award was bestowed on Alexander Mackay-Smith (1903-1998) for his broad contributions to the whole of the equine industry. Mr. Mackay-Smith’s influence continues today not only in his books, but also in the organizations that he helped found and that are still flourishing.

The other finalists in 2006 included Matthew Mackay-Smith, DVM, G. Marvin Beeman, DVM, David O’Connor, LSU Equine Health Studies Program, and Charlotte Brailey Kneeland. These finalists will automatically be entered in the 2007 competition.

To request a nomination ballot for the 2007 Equine Industry Vision Award, contact Christine W. Brune, Executive Director, American Horse Publications at 386-760-7743 or email AHorsePubs@aol.com.

Nomination information is also available at the AHP website at http://www.americanhorsepubs.org. All materials will be due on January 12, 2007.



Equestrianmag.com Front Page